HOW TO SECURELY ERASE A BLACKBERRY 10 DEVICE

April 30, 2013 at 6:20 pm | Posted in Blackberry | Leave a comment

bbry10wipe

Let’s face it: BlackBerry 10 isn’t going to be for everyone. There are going to be people who have purchased a Z10 only to find out it’s not the device for them, and some people might find that they prefer the Q10, which launches soon.

As such, you’re going to want to securely wipe all of your information from the device. With just a few taps you’ll be able to secure your data, ensuring it doesn’t end up in the wrong hands.

  • Before wiping your device, it’s a good idea to use BlackBerry Link to back it up. Erasing your device is permanent, and should you need information from the device at a later time, you’re going to be thankful you made the backup.
  • Have a backup, right? Alright, then go ahead and launch the Settings app and tap on the “Security and Privacy” option.
  • Toward the bottom of the screen you’ll find “Security Wipe”; tap on it. You’ll need to type “blackberry” into the text field at the bottom before proceeding. This is BlackBerry’s way of keeping you from accidentally wiping your device. After entering the keyword and tapping on the Delete Data button, your device will begin resetting itself to its factory state.
Advertisements

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.